The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Maddon, Piniella are Managers of the Year

Posted by: Peter Abraham - Posted in Misc on Nov 12, 2008 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

As expected, Joe Maddon is the AL manager of the year. He received all but one first-place vote. The other went to Ron Gardenhire, who apparently took somebody’s dog as hostage.

Maddon had 138 points. Gardenhire had 58 and was followed by Mike Scioscia, Terro Francona, Crazy Ozzie Guillen and Cito Gaston.

In the National League, the race was more wide open as Lou Piniella (15), Charlie Manuel (8), Fredi Gonzalez (5), Joe Torre (3) and Tony LaRussa (1) all received first-place votes. They finished in that order. Jerry Manuel, Cecil Cooper and Dale Sveum also received votes.

Keep in mind the voting is done prior to the start of the postseason. At least nobody voted for Joe Girardi in the National League.

The AL Cy Young will be announced tomorrow.




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581