The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News


Yankees announce spring schedule

Posted by: Peter Abraham - Posted in Misc on Nov 25, 2008 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Here’s a release from the Yankees on spring training. I’ll post my third-annual spring training travel guide sometime next week. It’s never too early to make plans.

————

The 26-time World Champion New York Yankees announced today they will open their 2009 Major League spring training schedule on Wednesday, February 25 at 1:05 p.m. vs. the Toronto Blue Jays at Knology Park in Dunedin, Fla. The Yankees’ first home spring training game is scheduled for Thursday, February 26 at 1:15 p.m. vs. the Tampa Bay Rays. This season marks the earliest start to the Yankees’ spring training game schedule in at least 60 years.

In addition, the Yankees announced that ticket prices for 2009 spring training games at George M. Steinbrenner Field will remain the same as last season.

The Yankees will play a 33-game Grapefruit League schedule as well as two home exhibition games against World Baseball Classic teams at George M. Steinbrenner Field. On Tuesday, March 3 at 1:15 p.m., the Yankees will host Team USA, and will welcome Team Canada on Thursday, March 5 at 1:15 p.m.

Included in the Yankees’ 16 total home exhibition games against Major League competition are six night contests (7:15 p.m. start time) on Friday, March 6 vs. Detroit; Tuesday, March 10 vs. Cincinnati; Tuesday, March 17 vs. Pittsburgh; Thursday, March 19 vs. Toronto; Tuesday, March 24 vs. Boston and Friday, March 27 vs. Cincinnati.

Pitchers and catchers are scheduled to report on Friday, February 13, with their first workout slated for Saturday, February 14. The Yankees’ first full-squad workout is scheduled for Wednesday, February 18. The World Baseball Classic will be played from March 5 through March 23.

This will be the Yankees’ 14th spring training at George M. Steinbrenner Field in Tampa, Fla. The complex was renamed for the Yankees’ Chairman on March 27, 2008, following two unanimous resolutions supporting the change issued by the Hillsborough County Commission and the Tampa City Council.

Season tickets for the Yankees’ complete 2009 home exhibition schedule will go on sale beginning the second week of December. Individual-game spring tickets will go on sale in January. For information, fans should call (813) 879-2244 or visit www.steinbrennerfield.com.

2009 NEW YORK YANKEES EXHIBITION SCHEDULE
(All times are Eastern Time and subject to change. ss=Split Squad)

Wed., Feb. 25: Toronto at Dunedin, 1:05 p.m.
Thur., Feb. 26: TAMPA BAY AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 27: Minnesota at Ft. Myers, 1:05 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 28: MINNESOTA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Sun., Mar. 1: Cincinnati at Sarasota, 1:05 p.m.
Mon., Mar. 2: Houston at Kissimmee, 1:05 p.m.
Tue., Mar. 3: TEAM USA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Wed., Mar. 4: Atlanta at Lake Buena Vista, 1:05 p.m.
Thur., Mar. 5: TEAM CANADA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Fri., Mar. 6: DETROIT AT GMS FIELD, 7:15 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 7 : ATLANTA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Sun., Mar. 8: Detroit at Lakeland, 1:05 p.m.
Mon., Mar. 9: TORONTO AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Tue., Mar. 10: CINCINNATI AT GMS FIELD, 7:15 p.m.
Wed., Mar. 11: Detroit at Lakeland, 1:05 p.m.
Fri., Mar. 13: Boston at Ft. Myers, 7:05 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 14: Pittsburgh at Bradenton (ss), 1:05 p.m.; HOUSTON AT GMS FIELD (ss), 1:15 p.m.
Sun., Mar. 15: MINNESOTA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Mon., Mar. 16: PHILADELPHIA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Tue., Mar. 17: PITTSBURGH AT GMS FIELD, 7:15 p.m.
Wed., Mar. 18: Houston at Kissimmee, 1:05 p.m.
Thur., Mar. 19: TORONTO AT GMS FIELD, 7:15 p.m.
Fri., Mar. 20: Minnesota at Ft. Myers, 1:05 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 21: DETROIT AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Sun., Mar. 22: Tampa Bay at Port Charlotte, 1:05 p.m.
Mon., Mar. 23: Philadelphia at Clearwater, 1:05 p.m.
Tues., Mar. 24: BOSTON AT GMS FIELD, 7:15 p.m.
Thur., Mar. 26: Philadelphia at Clearwater, 1:05 p.m.
Fri., Mar. 27: CINCINNATI AT GMS FIELD, 7:15 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 28: Atlanta at Lake Buena Vista, 1:05 p.m.
Sun., Mar. 29: PITTSBURGH AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Mon., Mar. 30: Toronto at Dunedin, 1:05 p.m.
Tue., Mar. 31: Cincinnati at Sarasota, 1:05 p.m.
Wed., Apr. 1: PHILADELPHIA AT GMS FIELD, 1:15 p.m.
Fri., Apr. 3: CHICAGO CUBS AT YANKEE STADIUM, 7:05 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 4: CHICAGO CUBS AT YANKEE STADIUM, 1:05 p.m.

Comments

comments

 
 

Sponsored by:
 

Search

    Advertisement

    Follow

    Mobile

    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.

Advertisement

Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581