The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Greinke wins in a runaway (UPDATES with Mitre news)

Posted by: Sam Borden - Posted in Misc on Nov 17, 2009 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Zack Greinke won the AL Cy Young, dominating the voting and taking 25 of the 28 first-place votes. Here’s the breakdown of the balloting.

1. Zack Greinke, Royals (25-3-0 — 134 points)
2. Felix Hernandez, Mariners (2-23-1 — 80 points)
3. Justin Verlander, Tigers (1-0-9 — 14 points)
4. CC Sabathia, Yankees (0-2-7 — 13 points)
5. Roy Halladay, Blue Jays (0-0-11 — 11 points)

UPDATE, 2:08 p.m.: I didn’t want to start a new post so quickly but wanted to pass along that the Yankees have officially declined their 2010 option on Sergio Mitre. He still remains under their control and is arbitration-eligible.




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581