The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Lincecum wins second straight Cy

Posted by: Sam Borden - Posted in Misc on Nov 19, 2009 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Tim Lincecum won the NL Cy Young for a second straight year, narrowly beating Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright.

Lincecum (11 first place votes) actually received one fewer first-place vote than Wainwright (12), but finished with 100 points in the 5-3-1 voting. Carpenter was second with 94 points and Wainwright third with 90.

UPDATE, 2:04 p.m.:
Here’s the full balloting. The only other time a pitcher won the Cy Young Award without the most first-place votes was 1998, when the Tom Glavine had 11 to Trevor Hoffman’s 13.

Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants — 11 – 12 – 9 — 100 points
Chris Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals — 9 – 14 – 7 — 94 points
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals — 12 – 5 – 15 — 90 points
Javier Vazquez, Atlanta Braves — 0 – 1 – 0 — 3 points
Dan Haren, Arizona Diamondbacks — 0 – 0 – 1 – 1 point

UPDATE, 2:53 p.m.: Chad here. Didn’t want to start a new post just yet, but USA Today’s Bob Nightengale has posted on Twitter that the Yankees are making Nick Swisher available. That’s not the same as trying to trade Swisher, it could simply mean the Yankees are willing to include him in a deal that brings another right fielder. Or it could mean his name was brought up and the Yankees didn’t label him as untouchable.




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581