The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Mauer wins big; Tex second, Jeter third

Posted by: Sam Borden - Posted in Misc on Nov 23, 2009 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Joe Mauer is the 2009 AL MVP after receiving 27 of 28 first-place votes. Mark Teixeira finished second and Derek Jeter was third. Miguel Cabrera finished fourth and received the one non-Mauer first-place vote. Full balloting will be posted in a moment.

UPDATE, 2:07 p.m.: Here’s the top 10 vote-getters. Unlike the other awards, where voters list only their top three, MVP ballots have a top 10 (first place gets 14 points, nine for second, eight for third on down to one for 10th).

1. Joe Mauer – 387 points
2. Mark Teixeira – 225 points
3. Derek Jeter – 193 points
4. Miguel Cabrera – 171 points
5. Kendry Morales – 170 points
6. Kevin Youkilis – 150 points
7. Jason Bay – 78 points
8. Ben Zobrist – 34 points
9. Ichiro Suzuki – 33 points
T10. Alex Rodriguez – 31 points
T10. Chone Figgins – 31 points

Others: Mariano Rivera (17 points); Robinson Cano (12 points); CC Sabathia (four points)

You can see the full ballot here.

UPDATE, 2:12 p.m.: I’m not sure what to say about the other first-place vote going to Miguel Cabrera. Put it this way: I’ll be very curious to hear the rationale. I mean, hey, he did look pretty valuable over that last weekend of the season ….

UPDATE, 2:40 p.m.: According to Newsday’s Ken Davidoff, the writer who voted Cabrera first is Keizo Konishi of Kyodo News, based in Seattle.




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581