The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Old-Timers’ Day to celebrate 1950 championship

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Jul 10, 2010 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

In all of the Cliff Lee madness, this press release was obviously buried yesterday.

The New York Yankees announced today that seven members of the 1950 World Championship team will be on hand at the 64th annual Old-Timers’ Day on Saturday, July 17, at Yankee Stadium. Introductions are scheduled to begin at 2:00 p.m. with the traditional Old-Timers’ game to follow, both of which will be aired exclusively on the YES Network. The Yankees will then host the Tampa Bay Rays at 4:05 p.m., airing on FOX.

The Old-Timers are headlined by seven members of the Yankees’ 1950 World Series-winning club, including Hall-of-Famers Yogi Berra and Whitey Ford, as well as Jerry Coleman, Don Johnson, Duane Pillette, Charlie Silvera and Hank Workman. For Johnson, Pillette and Workman, this year will mark their first Old-Timers’ Day appearances. Dr. Bobby Brown, Ralph Houk and Fred Sanford were invited, but will not be able to attend the event.

Also in attendance will be Hall of Famers Rich “Goose” Gossage and Reggie Jackson, along with 2009-inductee Rickey Henderson. In addition, Cecil Fielder will make his Old-Timers’ Day debut.

Joining the Hall-of-Famers and members of the 1950 Yankees club on the baselines will be more than 30 additional former Yankees and the widows of four legendary Yankees—Arlene Howard, widow of Elston Howard; Helen Hunter, widow of Jim “Catfish” Hunter; Kay Murcer, widow of Bobby Murcer; and Diana Munson, widow of Thurman Munson.

List of those Scheduled to Attend
(*Denotes First-Time Old-Timer)

Luis Arroyo
Jesse Barfield
Yogi Berra
Ron Blomberg
Homer Bush
Rick Cerone
Chris Chambliss
Horace Clarke
Jerry Coleman
David Cone
Bucky Dent
Al Downing
Brian Doyle
Mike Easler
Dave Eiland
Cecil Fielder*
Whitey Ford
Oscar Gamble
Joe Girardi
Rich “Goose” Gossage
Ron Guidry
Charlie Hayes
Rickey Henderson
Arlene Howard
Helen Hunter
Reggie Jackson
Don Johnson*
Pat Kelly
Don Larsen
Hector Lopez
Lee Mazzilli
Gene Michael
Diana Munson
Kay Murcer
Jerry Narron
Jeff Nelson
Graig Nettles
Joe Pepitone
Duane Pillette*
Mickey Rivers
Charlie Silvera
Bill “Moose” Skowron
Aaron Small
Mel Stottlemyre
Ralph Terry
Mike Torrez
Bob Turley
Roy White
Hank Workman*




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581