The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Division Series umpires announced

Posted by: Sam Borden - Posted in Misc on Oct 05, 2010 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Greetings from Minneapolis, where it’s actually reasonably warm right now. As Chad said in the last post, though, it’s definitely going to be cold at night. Hopefully the sweaters I packed will suffice.

We’ll be at the workout later this afternoon with plenty of updates. For now, here’s the release from MLB on the umpires for the Yankees-Twins series, as well as the other first-round series. (What a surprise! No Phil Cuzzi for Yanks-Twins this time around.)


Major League Baseball has assigned the four umpiring crews that will work the American League and National League Division Series, which are scheduled to begin on Wednesday, October 6th and Thursday, October 7th. The four crew chiefs will be veterans Jerry Crawford, Dana DeMuth, John Hirschbeck and Tim Welke.

Crawford, a 34-year Major League Umpire, will work the American League Division Series between the New York Yankees and the Minnesota Twins, beginning on Wednesday at Target Field. Crawford’s crew will include Hunter Wendelstedt, Greg Gibson, Brian O’Nora, regular season crew chief Gary Darling and Chris Guccione.

Tim Welke, a 27-year Major League Umpire, will oversee the American League Division Series between the Texas Rangers and Tampa Bay Rays, beginning on Wednesday at Tropicana Field. Welke will be joined by Jim Wolf, Jerry Meals, Bill Miller, regular season crew chief Jeff Kellogg and Mike DiMuro.

Hirschbeck, a 27-year Major League Umpire, will lead the crew that will be on the field for the National League Division Series between the Cincinnati Reds and the Philadelphia Phillies. Bruce Dreckman, Sam Holbrook, Ed Rapuano, regular season crew chief Gary Cederstrom and Rob Drake will comprise Hirschbeck’s crew.

DeMuth, a 27-year Major League Umpire, has been assigned to the National League Division Series featuring the Atlanta Braves and the San Francisco Giants, which is to begin on Thursday at AT&T Park. DeMuth’s crew will consist of Paul Nauert, Paul Emmel, Mike Winters, regular season crew chief Jerry Layne and Ed Hickox. Umpires for the League Championship Series and the 106th World Series will be announced when assignments have been made.




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581