The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Sabathia falls behind Price and Halladay

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Oct 31, 2010 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

ph_282332Bad knee and all, CC Sabathia was among the finalists for the American League’s Oustanding Pitcher Award, but the award went to another AL East left-hander.

David Price won the award, voted on by the players association, ahead of Sabathia and Felix Hernandez.

Sabathia also in the running for the Clutch Performer of the Year Award, which went to Roy Halladay. This award is nothing like the Cy Young or MVP. It’s basically something for Pepsi to have its name attached to, and the entire voting is done by fans online.

Halladay won the award with 32 percent of the vote. Here are the full standings:

RHP Roy Halladay, Phillies — 32%
RHP Brian Wilson, Giants — 21%
1B Joey Votto, Reds — 15%
LHP CC Sabathia, Yankees — 13%
1B Miguel Cabrera, Tigers — 11%
RHP Rafael Soriano, Rays — 5%

The award is meant to recognize the player who consistently performed at his best when the game was on the line. The nominees were selected by a special editorial panel from Sabathia has won the award in the past. The past three winners: Alex Rodriguez (2007), Sabathia (2008) and Andre Ethier (2009).




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581