The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Hall of Fame results coming this afternoon

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Jan 05, 2011 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Barring a massive trade, Rafael Soriano signing or Andy Pettitte decision, today’s big story will be the Class of 2011 Hall of Fame announcement.

The news will be posted on the Hall of Fame site at 2 p.m. Eastern, with MLB Network and airing a Hall of Fame special beginning at 1 p.m.

One year ago, Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven barely missed election, Alomar by eight votes and Blyleven by five. Historically, that suggests they’re near locks for election this time around. Barry Larkin, Tim Raines and Edgar Martinez are also among the players returning to the ballot.

Among the first-timers, Jeff Bagwell seems to have the best chance of election this time around. Rafael Palmeiro, Larry Walker and Juan Gonzalez are also new to the ballot this year.

Former Yankees first basemen Don Mattingly and Tino Martinez were also on this year’s ballot, though neither seems especially likely to be elected.

The complete ballot: Roberto Alomar, Carlos Baerga, Jeff Bagwell, Harold Baines, Bert Blyleven, Bret Boone, Kevin Brown, John Franco, Juan Gonzalez, Marquis Grissom, Lenny Harris, Bobby Higginson, Charles Johnson, Barry Larkin, Al Leiter, Edgar Martinez, Tino Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Raul Mondesi, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, John Olerud, Rafael Palmeiro, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Kirk Rueter, Benito Santiago, Lee Smith, B.J. Surhoff, Alan Trammell and Larry Walker.

Associated Press photo of Alomar




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581