The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Reminder that the BBWAA dinner is one week away

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Jan 14, 2012 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

There’s been a lot happening since last night, but I just wanted to post a reminder that the New York Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America will hold its 89th annual awards dinner on Saturday, January 21 at the Hilton New York (1335 Avenue of the Americas between West 53rd and 54 Streets).

The dinner really is a tremendous event with some of the biggest names in baseball. If you’re able to attend, tickets are $225 each and can be purchased through Phil Pepe ( or 201-871-5924). Cocktails begin at 6 p.m., with the dinner slated to get underway at 7 p.m.

Highlights this year will include Ryan Braun’s first public appearance since his PED test results; Jose Reyes’ return to New York since signing with Marlins; Barry Larkin attending as the newest Hall of Famer; Mariano Rivera presenting the Long & Meritorious Service Award to Gene Monahan; Don Newcombe presenting Cy and MVP to Justin Verlander; and Bobby Valentine presenting the community service award to Dave Robertson.

Here is the complete list of winners who will be honored next Saturday:

Willie, Mickey and the Duke Award: 1962 Mets
Joan Payson Award for community service: Dave Robertson
William J. Slocum-Jack Lang Award for Long and Meritorious Service: Gene Monahan
Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town Award: Mariano Rivera
Ben Epstein-Dan Castellano Good Guy Award: Jose Reyes
Sid Mercer-Dick Young Player of the Year Award: Jose Bautista (not attending)
Babe Ruth Award (Postseason MVP): David Freese
Casey Stengel You Could Look It Up Award: Tommy Davis
Arthur and Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart Award: Gary Carter (to be accepted by his daughter, Kimmy)

American League MVP: Justin Verlander
National League MVP: Ryan Braun
American League Cy Young: Justin Verlander
National League Cy Young: Clayton Kershaw
American League Rookie of the Year: Jeremy Hellickson (not attending)
National League Rookie of the Year: Craig Kimbrel
American League Manager of the Year: Joe Maddon (not attending)
National League Manager of the Year: Kirk Gibson




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581