The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News


Second-base umpire: “The call was incorrect”

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Oct 14, 2012 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Second-base umpire Jeff Nelson admitted that his eighth-inning call was incorrect.

“The hand did not get in before the tag,” he said. “The call was incorrect. … I had the tag late and the hand going into the bag before the tag on the chest.”

Yankees manager Joe Girardi spent much of his postgame press conference arguing for instant replay, saying that his team’s chances of scoring a run in the last two innings would have changed significantly if it were a one-run game instead of a three-run game.

“We’re looking into (additional replay),” MLB vice president of baseball operations Joe Torre said. “We’re not saying it can happen, but right now we haven’t really come to any conclusion on what’s the best way to go about it and not make the game drag and go longer than they are going already.”

Associated Press photo

Comments

comments

 
 

Sponsored by:
 

Search

    Advertisement

    Follow

    Mobile

    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.

Advertisement

Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581