- The LoHud Yankees Blog - http://yankees.lhblogs.com -

Teixeira and Cano win Gold Glove awards

Tweet [1]


Mark Teixeira has won a Gold Glove. So has Robinson Cano.

The Rawlings Gold Glove announcement show is currently airing on ESPN2, and Teixeira was just announced as the American League winner at first base. Immediately after that, Cano was announced as the A.L. winner at second.

The Yankees just sent the following announcement with facts and figures:

[3]The New York Yankees congratulate 1B Mark Teixeira and 2B Robinson Cano upon being awarded 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. It marks the third time in the last four seasons that the Yankees have had at least two Gold Glove winners in the same year (also Jeter/Teixeira in 2009 and Cano/Jeter/Teixeira in 2010).

Teixeira led qualifying Major League first basemen with a career-best .999 fielding percentage, committing just one error in 1,055 total chances during the 2012 regular season. It marked the best single-season fielding percentage by any Major League first baseman over the last three seasons (2010-12) and the 10th-best single-season mark at first base in the Modern Era (since 1900). Teixeira’s .999 also established the Yankees franchise record at his position, surpassing Don Mattingly’s .998 in 1994 (2E in 989 total chances).

The award is Teixeira’s fifth overall Gold Glove (2005-06 w/ Texas and 2009-10, ’12 w/ Yankees) and third as a Yankee. He is one of just four Yankees first basemen to win the award and one of three to earn the honor at least three times with the club. Other Yankees first basemen to win the award are Joe Pepitone (three-time winner, 1965-66, ’69), Chris Chambliss (one-time winner, 1978), and Don Mattingly (nine-time winner, 1985-89, ’91-94).

Cano, who led all American League second basemen with 726 chances in 2012, finished second in the league with a .992 fielding percentage while making just six errors. This marks his second career Gold Glove Award (also 2010).

He is just one of two Yankees second basemen to win a Gold Glove, along with Bobby Richardson, who won the honor in five straight seasons from 1961-65. Cano also holds two of the three best single-season fielding percentages by a second baseman in franchise history with his third-best mark in 2012 and his club-best .996 in 2010 (3E in 776 total chances). Snuffy Stirnweiss owns the second-highest single-season mark by a Yankees second baseman (.993 in 1948).

Since his debut in 2005, Cano has played in more games (1,197), made more starts (1,171) and played more innings (10,413.1) at second base than any other Major Leaguer. He has also tallied the most chances (5,891) and been part of the most double plays (788) at his position over the stretch.

AL: Matt Wieters
NL: Yadier Molina

First base
AL: Mark Teixeira
NL: Adam LaRoche

Second base
AL: Robinson Cano
NL: Darwin Barney

AL: J.J. Hardy
NL: Jimmy Rollins

Third base
AL: Adrian Beltre
NL: Chase Headley

Right field
AL: Josh Reddick
NL: Jason Heyward

Center field
AL: Adam Jones
NL: Andrew McCutchen

Left field
AL: Alex Gordon
NL: Carlos Gonzalez

AL: Jeremy Hellickson and Jake Peavy
NL: Mark Buehrle

Associated Press photos