- The LoHud Yankees Blog - http://yankees.lhblogs.com -

BBWAA Awards to be televised

Tweet [1]

For the first time, the Baseball Writers Association of America will televise its annual awards. Those awards include the MVP and Cy Young awards generally accepted as the top postseason honors in the sport. Awards seasons kicks off on Monday, and you can watch it unfold night-by-night on MLB Network. Here are the details.

[2]The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) will announce the winners of the Most Valuable Player, Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year awards exclusively on MLB Network from Monday, November 12 to Thursday, November 15, marking the first time the BBWAA Awards announcements will be televised live.

BBWAA Awards Week will feature the announcement of an award in the American League and National League live each day at 6:00 p.m. ET by BBWAA secretary-treasurer Jack O’Connell inside MLB Network’s Studio 42. The week begins with the announcement of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards on Monday, November 12, followed by the Manager of the Year announcements on Tuesday, November 13. The week continues with the announcement of the Cy Young Awards on Wednesday, November 14 and concludes with the MVP Award winners being announced on Thursday, November 15.

Hosted by MLB Network’s Greg Amsinger, BBWAA Awards Week will feature insight from MLB Network analysts Larry Bowa, Al Leiter, Dan Plesac, Harold Reynolds, Bill Ripken and Tom Verducci, plus live interviews with BBWAA members and this year’s award winners and finalists. Every show will also take an in-depth look at each award’s history.

MLB Network will analyze the BBWAA awards in its studio programming, including on Hot Stove, Intentional Talk and MLB Tonight. Clubhouse Confidential, hosted by Brian Kenny, will also discuss the awards from a sabermetric perspective. MLB Network will also air a special AL MVP Roundtable show on Wednesday, November 14 at 9:00 p.m. ET, which will feature a panel discussion of the highly-debated AL MVP Award competition.

Associated Press photo