The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Hall of Fame shutout

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Jan 09, 2013 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Craig Biggio got the largest vote total, but no one was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame this afternoon. The results were just announced on MLB Network.

Eleven players received at least 30 percent of the vote, with 75 percent required for election. Here are the top vote getters.

Craig Biggio — 388 votes (68.2%)
Jack Morris — 385 votes (67.7%)
Jeff Bagwell — 339 votes (59.6%)
Mike Piazza — 329 votes (57.8%)
Tim Raines — 297 votes (52.2%)
Lee Smith — 272 votes (47.8%)
Curt Schilling — 221 votes (38.8%)
Roger Clemens — 214 votes (37.6%)
Barry Bonds — 206 votes (36.2%)
Edgar Martinez — 204 votes (35.9%)
Alan Trammell — 191 votes (33.6%)
Larry Walker — 123 votes (21.6%)
Fred McGriff — 118 votes (20.7%)
Dale Murphy — 106 votes (18.6%)
Mark McGwire — 96 votes (16.9%)
Don Mattingly — 75 votes (13.2%)
Sammy Sosa — 71 votes (12.5%)
Rafael Palmeiro — 50 votes (8.8%)
Bernie Williams — 19 votes (3.3%)

Full results are available at the BBWAA website.

Bernie Williams will fall off the ballot next year because he didn’t get enough votes to stay (same for David Wells and Kenny Lofton). Dale Murphy will fall off the ballot because he’s reached his 15-year limit.

Interesting to see the stunningly low vote total of Sammy Sosa, and interesting to see Mike Piazza and Curt Schilling finish ahead of Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens.




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581