The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Yankees updated minor league work groups

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Mar 18, 2013 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Being at the minor league complex today was a good opportunity to get the latest minor league work group assignments. As I always say with these things, it’s important that you don’t read too much into these assignments because a lot of them have absolutely no connection to where players will be assigned during the season. That’s especially true for the Triple-A roster, which has a lot of its players — if not most of its players — still in big league camp.

It’s worth noting that 2B Anderson Feliz is currently assigned to the Tampa group, but today he played for the Charleston group. Could be a sign of things to come, or it could be totally meaningless. That sort of thing isn’t necessarily common, but it’s not unheard of at the complex.

Also, in regard to the lineups, there are usually a lot of changes in the sixth or seventh inning. For example, Angelo Gumbs and Miguel Andujar were two of eight Low-A players who didn’t start but finished today’s game. That’s standard at the complex. A healthy player being kept out of the starting lineup is not a significant indication of anything. It changes significantly from day to day, just like in big league camp.

It’s also worth noting that the following players are currently assigned as “rehab players” because of either nagging or significant injuries that have them sidelined for the time being. In most cases, I have no clue what’s wrong with the player: LHP Manny Banuelos, RHP Dawerd Cruz, LHP Caleb Frare, RHP Ty Hensley, RHP Dallas Martinez, RHP Will Oliver, RHP Wilton Rodriguez, RHP Chris Smith, RHP Zach Woods, C David Remedios, C Isaias Tejeda, OF Adonis Garcia, OF Slade Heathcott and OF Ravel Santana.

So, here are the current work group assignments along with today’s starting lineup for each team. And, yes, there are almost always two designated hitters during minor league spring training games. It’s just a way for more guys to get at-bats.


Jose Toussen 2B
Zoilo Almonte RF
Austin Romine C
Luke Murton DH
Austin Jones 1B
Neil Medchill LF
Casey Stevenson 3B
Cody Grice DH
Jose Mojica SS
Exicardo Cayones CF

Arbiso, Cory
Arrebato, Rigoberto
Betances, Dellin
Black, Sean
Bleich, Jeremy
Bootcheck, Chris
Chirinos, Luis
Daley, Matt
Gerritse, Brett
Guerra, Pedro
Hall, Shaeffer
Heyer, Craig
Lewis, Fred
Marshall, Brett
Mejia, Edixon
Moreno, Diego
Perez, Kelvin
Pope, Ryan
Richardson, Matt
Romanski, Josh
Rondon, Francisco
Sneed, Kramer
Stoneburner, Graham
Venditte, Pat
Whitley, Chase

Baker, Ryan
Farnham, Jeff
Arcia, Francisco
Romine, Austin

Corona, Reegie
Jones, Austin
Mahoney, Kevin
Mojica, Jose
Murton, Luke
Rosario, Francisco
Stevenson, Casey
Toussen, Jose

Brown, Shane
Cayones, Exicardo
Grice, Cody
Johnson, Cody
Medchill, Neil
Almonte, Zoilo


Ramon Flores DH
Claudio Custodio SS
Rob Segedin 3B
Kyle Roller DH
Kelvin DeLeon RF
Kyle Higashioka C
Rey Nunez 1B
Leugim Barroso 2B
Danny Oh CF
Daniel Aldrich LF

Barreda, Manny
Bashore, Matt
Brebbia, John
Burawa, Dan
Castro, Kelvin
Cotham, Caleb
Dott, Aaron
Heredia, Jairo
Kahnle, Thomas
Mahoney, Dan
Mesa, Jose
Nuding, Zach
O’Brien, Mikey
Paullus, Ben
Ramirez, Jose
Short, Charles
Smith, Adam
Smith, Alex
Turley, Nik
Varnadore, Derek

Blaser, Tyson
Rabago, Hector
Higashioka, Kyle
Murphy, J.R.

Angelini, Carmen
Barroso, Leugim
Custodio, Claudio
Nunez, Reymond
Roller, Kyle
Segedin, Rob
Kuo, Fu-Lin

Aldrich, Daniel
Austin, Tyler
DeLeon, Kelvin
Oh, Danny
Oliberto, Mikeson
Flores, Ramon


Taylor Dugas RF
Francisco Cervelli C
Ben Gamel LF
Zach Wilson 3B
Yeral Sanchez DH
Rob Refsnyder 2B
Saxon Butler 1B
Eduardo Sosa CF
Dalton Smith DH
Dan Fiorito SS

Acevedo, Andury
Allen, Scottie
Arneson, Zach
Basford, Charles
Black, Corey
Campos, Vicente
Canela, Erick
Checo, Mariel
DeLa Cruz, Joel
DeLuca, Evan
Enns, Dietrich
Flight, Tim
Garrison, Taylor
Goody, Nick
Greene, Shane
Haslup, Charles
Lopez, Stefan
Maher, Joey
Mitchell, Bryan
Pazos, James
Wetherell, Phil

Sanchez, Gary
Valera, Jackson
Wilson, Wes
McCoy, Nick

Butler, Saxon
Castillo, Ali
Feliz, Anderson
Fiorito, Dan
Refsnyder, Rob
Smith, Dalton
Snyder, Matt
Wilson, Zach

Sosa, Eduardo
Dugas, Taylor
Gamel, Ben
Williams, Mason


Cito Culver DH
Bobby Wilson C
Anderson Feliz 2B
Dante Bichette Jr. 3B
Greg Bird 1B
Jake Cave CF
Nathan Mikolas RF
Luis Torrens DH
Austin Aune SS
Daniel Lopez LF

Bautista, Rony
Benak, Andrew
Camarena, Daniel
Cote, Jordan
Davis, Rookie
Dawe, Dayton
DePaula, Rafael
Encinas, Gabe
Erickson, Eric
Gallegos, Giovanny
Hebert, Chaz
Jimenez, Juan
Lail, Brady
Mascheri, Rich
Morton, Taylor
Niebla, Luis
Rincon, Angel
Rutckyj, Evan
Severino, Luis
Sharp, Hayden
Vargas, Cesar

DeOleo, Eduardo
O’Brien, Pete
Torrens, Luis
Vavrusa, Daniel

Anderson, Jake
Andujar, Miguel
Aune, Austin
Avelino, Abiatal
Bichette, Dante
Bird, Greg
Culver, Cito
Duran, Matt
Gumbs, Angelo

Calderon, Yeicok
Cave, Jake
Lopez, Daniel
Mikolas, Nathan
Leonora, Ericson
Breen, Chris

Associated Press photo of Whitley




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581