The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Myers and Fernandez win Rookie of the Year awards

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Nov 11, 2013 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Wil Myers

The Yankees haven’t had a Rookie of the Year winner since Derek Jeter in 1996. This year, it was Wil Myers in the American League and Jose Fernandez in the American League. I can’t imagine either of those choices comes as a shock, though there were other players who received first-place votes in each league.

Obviously, no Yankees appeared on any of the American League ballots. As for votes, the Yankees beat was split. Erik Boland from Newsday voted for Myers; Dan Barbarisi from the Wall Street Journal voted for Jose Iglesias. I didn’t have a Rookie of the Year vote, so I never did a ton of research into it. My gut feeling is that I would have voted for Myers, but I didn’t break down the numbers or anything.

Myers and Fernandez are both awfully good. Every once in a while, the Rookie award goes to the guy who was the best by default, but Myers and Fernandez seem to be legitimately elite players.

Associated Press photo




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581