The LoHud Yankees Blog

A New York Yankees blog by Chad Jennings and the staff of The Journal News

Girardi finishes fourth in Manager of the Year voting

Posted by: Chad Jennings - Posted in Misc on Nov 12, 2013 Print This Post Print This Post | Email This Post Email This Post

Joe Girardi

Joe Girardi received a pair of second-place votes but ultimately finished fourth in this year’s American League Manager of the Year voting.

Cleveland manager Terry Francona won the award, barely edging Boston’s John Farrell. Pirates manager Clint Hurdle won in the National League.

Girardi finished fourth, getting two second-place votes and five third-place votes. The voters representing the Yankees beat — the great George King and the perfectly okay Andy McCullough — had vastly different ballots. King voted Farrell, Jim Leyland and Bob Melvin. McCullough voted Francona, Girardi and Farrell. The two Boston voters each had the exact same ballot, which included Girardi in third place. Girardi’s other second-place vote came from Sheldon Ocker in Cleveland.

Associated Press photo




Sponsored by:





    Read The LoHud Yankees Blog on the go by navigating to the blog on your smartphone or mobile device's browser. No apps or downloads are required.


Place an ad

Call (914) 694-3581